In the spotlight


Mission & Aims History List of Presidents Articles of the Association

Mission & Aims

The European Association for Haemophilia and Allied Disorders (EAHAD) is a multidisciplinary association of healthcare professionals who provide care for individuals with haemophilia and other bleeding disorders. Its members include haematologists, internists, paediatricians, nurses, physiotherapists, laboratory scientists and researchers from across Europe.
Since its establishment in 2007, EAHAD has worked to improve the situation of people living with haemophilia and other bleeding disorders.


To ensure the provision of the highest quality of clinical care by recognising, measuring and addressing the problems of people with haemophilia and allied disorders in Europe, to protect their interests and to ensure the provision of the highest quality of care available.


To educate the medical community and the general public by advancing the education of medical practitioners, clinical scientists, professions allied to medicine and the general public in the knowledge of haemophilia and allied disorders and their treatment.


To promote scientific research by supporting scientific research and auditing into the causes, prevention, alleviation and management of haemophilia and allied disorders and to disseminate the useful results of such research


Interdisciplinary Working Group

In 2005, a group of 45 independent haemophilia physicians from 19 countries across Europe met to identify and address constraints inhibiting developments in haemophilia care across Europe. This Interdisciplinary Working Group (IDWG) was led by its co-chairmen Professors Christopher Ludlam and Pier Mannucci and a Steering Committee of Prof Jan Astermark, Dr Brian Colvin, Dr Mike Makris, Prof Jørgen Ingerslev and Prof Claude Negrier.

The IDWG identified three areas of focus: 

1) agree on a framework for underpinning principles of haemophilia services
2) encourage more young physicians to enter the specialty
3) develop a surveillance system for adverse events in those with haemophilia particularly in respect of therapy

The physicians of the IDWG formed three working groups and these each met on seven occasions over the following two years to address the issues of development of haemophilia services, recruitment of young physicians and the safety of therapy. These working groups prepared and published the European Principles of Haemophilia Care, the European Curriculum for Thrombosis and Haemostasis and established the European Haemophilia Surveillance Project (EUHASS). 

For more information on the recommendations of the IDWG, please consult: Ludlam, C.A., Mannucci, P.M., Powderly, G. et al. Addressing current challenges in haemophilia care: consensus recommendations of a European Interdisciplinary Working Group. Haemophilia. 2005,11:433-7.

Creation of EAHAD

With the completion of the IDWG activities, the physicians wished to continue to meet to collaborate and promote haemophilia activities across the whole of Europe. They developed a constitution for a European Association for all healthcare professionals providing haemophilia services including physicians, nurses, physiotherapists, psychologists, social workers and research scientists. 

At an independently funded, open meeting in Vienna on 7th June 2007, 120 individuals were enthusiastic to form the Association, agreed the constitution and elected office bearers and an executive committee. 

The constitution was transformed into a legal document (Memorandum and Articles of Association) to enable EAHAD to register both as a Limited Company and also as a charity in England. 

EAHAD has since moved its legal base to Belgium, under the leadership of 2018-2020 President Prof. Mike Makris and with the support of then Chief Executive Officer Ms Aislin Ryan. The association has grown into an organisation with an annual congress that attracts over 2000 people working in the bleeding disorders field.

EAHAD’s current President is Dr Jan Blatny from the Czech Republic.

List of Presidents

  • Professor Christopher A Ludlam

    United Kingdom
  • Professor Pier Mannucci

  • (Biography)

    Professor Jan Astermark

  • Professor Philippe de Moerloose

  • Professor Cedric Hermans

  • Professor Michael Makris

    United Kingdom
  • Professor Flora Peyvandi

  • Dr Robert Klamroth

  • Dr Jan Blatny

    Czech Republic

Articles of the Association

EAHAD is an international non-profit association (AISBL) under Belgian law with the registration number 0718.594.509. Its Articles of Association can be consulted in the PDF below.

Articles of Association (official French version)

Articles of Association (English convenience translation – for information purposes only)

*Articles 3 and 4 have not yet entered into force and will only do so upon their approval by the Belgian Ministry of Justice via the issuance of a royal decree.