In the spotlight

European Haemophilia Centres Accreditation

Accreditation of European Haemophilia Centres

There are 409 known haemophilia centres in Europe at locations shown on the map. The size and services offered vary enormously with some centres caring for more than 350 persons with severe haemophilia whilst others care for less than five. The times and extent of available care also vary significantly.

Following extensive consultation a set of guidelines has been produced for the designation of haemophilia centres as either European Haemophilia Comprehensive Care Centres (EHCCC) or European Haemophilia Treatment Centres (EHTC). The document, European guidelines for the accreditation of Haemophilia Centres, can be viewed from the link below.

We are grateful to everyone who took part in the consultation process. Centres who wish to apply for accreditation may do so by completing the application form which can be downloaded by clicking on the link below.

The process

  1. Completed forms should be emailed to
  2. Upon reception, the EAHAD Office sends the form to the Accreditation Panel. The Accreditation Panel reviews the form and, unless clarification is needed, reaches a decision regarding the designation of the centre. The EAHAD Office issues the certificate and sends it back to the centre. The centre’s information is added on the HC Locator (if not already there) and a EHCCC or EHTC pin is added next to its name and on the map.
  3. For expired or about to expire certificates, please contact before completing another form.